What Happens When I Receive a Traffic Ticket?
Does it look like this?
Citations issued by City police officers are filed with the Topeka Municipal Court. Other tickets written by the Kansas Highway Patrol or the Sheriff’s Office are filed with the Shawnee County District Court. Drivers should check to see which court their ticket is for.
The driver should be advised there are 4 ways to take care of a city citation. A driver must do one of the following within 14 days (if no mandated court appearance):
- Mail the fine to the address on the citation
- Pay the fine in person at Municipal Court
- Pay the fine online
- Go to Municipal Court and set a court date to contest the charges or if the citation requires a mandatory appearance.
What happens once a citation has been issued?
The citations are reviewed by supervisors at the Police Department to ensure they are correctly completed and that Department policies are followed. The city’s Legal Department then reviews the citations to ensure they are correct and legally sufficient. The citations are then filed with the Municipal Court and entered into the computer system.
What if it was a digital ticket?
This type of ticket is electronically filed and entered into the Municipal Court System. Other agencies use the same forms; the TPD is not the only local agency to use the citation form. Other agencies that use this form include:
- City of Topeka Parking
- City of Topeka Animal Control
- Washburn University Police
- Veterans Affairs Police
- Topeka Public School Police
All these agencies send their tickets to TPD and they go through the same process for quality control.
How does a driver’s license become suspended?
The State of Kansas Department of Revenue: Drivers Control Bureau oversees all Kansas Driver’s License issues. Certain serious violations may affect the status of a person’s license. Some of these violations include, but are not limited to:
- No proof of insurance
- Driving under the influence
- Driving while suspended or revoked
- Fleeing or attempting to elude a police officer
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Reckless driving
- Accumulation of excessive violations
- Failure to comply with a citation
Can I see my driving record?
You can view and securely pay for your driving record online. The fee for purchasing a driving record online is $8.70. You can check the status of your driver’s license online as well.
Can an officer issue a ticket if I see someone breaking a traffic law?
Generally for minor violations, an officer can issue a traffic citation where an officer is present and witnesses the violation. This helps ensure that the officer’s testimony is admissible in court and avoids inconvenience to private citizens having to appear in court to testify as witnesses.
In other cases, the assistance of witnesses may be necessary in order prosecute the violation. These are usually more serious cases where threatened or actual harm or property damage is a concern.
If you have any questions, call the Topeka Police Department at 785-368-9551, or the Municipal Court at 785-368-3776