Topeka City Council

Group photo of City Council

Top Row:Tony Emerson, Michael Lesser, Michael Padilla, Spencer Duncan, Neil Dobler

Bottom Row: Sylvia Ortiz, Hannah Naeger, Mayor Michelle De La Isla, Karen Hiller, Christina Valdivia-Alcala


City Council Meeting Information

City Council Meetings

The City Council normally meets on the first three Tuesdays of each month at 6 p.m. in the Council Chambers (municipal courtroom), 214 E. 8th. These meetings are cablecast live on the city’s governmental access Channel 4 on the Cox Cablevision Network. Replays are shown Wednesday at 1 p.m.; Saturday and Sunday at 9 a.m.

The City Council does, from time to time, meet in Special Session or continued meetings. These meetings, like all other meetings excluding Executive Session, are open public meetings. Under State law, certain items may be discussed in Executive Session, which are of a legal or personnel nature. These items are defined by state law.

The City Council conducts the business of the city by voting on ordinances, resolutions, applications, plats, zoning petitions, receiving reports and other items. The City Council elects a Deputy Mayor every year, who presides over Council meetings in the absence of the Mayor. All Councilmembers are members of Topeka/Shawnee County JEDO (Joint Economic Development Organization). Three are voting members.
Serving on the City Council is considered a part-time duty. The majority of Council members have full-time jobs in addition to their City Council duties. The compensation for each City Council member is set by ordinance at $20,000 per year. The City Council employs an assistant who helps respond to constituents, conducts research and assists with other official business.