City of Topeka Utilities leader receives national award

Sylvia Davis, a Deputy Director in the City’s Utilities Department was recently recognized with a national leadership award.

The honor, known as the “Women Who SPARK (WWS) Award,” is given by the Utility 2030 Collaborative (U2030). U2030 offers the awards program, which aims to close the gender gap in energy and utility innovation, by recognizing women for their innovation, leadership, and mentoring.

“Sylvia is a changemaker and leader here at the City of Topeka, and we couldn’t be more proud of her to receive this very impressive award,” said Interim City Manager Bill Cochran.

Davis was one of seven women across the country to be recognized.

List of award winners

Jody Allison, Algonquin Power & Utilities/Liberty
Maureen Bolen, Utegration
Sylvia Davis, City of Topeka, KS
Terri-Lynn Duque, ENMAX
Becky Ivester, SEMO Electric & GoSEMO Fiber
Jessica Mammel, Consumers Energy
Jessica Sutorus, City of Colton, CA

To learn more about U2030 and the WWS Awards Program, visit