Welcome to the City of Topeka Municipal Election page. The following information is provided to guide potential candidates through the election process.

All City of Topeka elected officials serve four-year terms, including the Mayor. Elections for City Councilmembers are staggered, with five Councilmembers elected at one time and four Councilmembers elected two years later. There is no limit on the number of terms for elected officials. The annual salary for a member of the Council is $10,000 and the annual salary for Office of the Mayor is $20,000.

The Mayor is the chief elected officer of the city, responsible for providing leadership and taking issues to the people and marshalling public interest in and support for municipal activity. For more information on the responsibilities of the Mayor, visit the Mayor’s page or call 785-368-3895.

The City Council has a number of standing committees to review items of business and hear from interested parties. These committees are the Budget Committee, Committee of the Whole, Economic and Community Development Committee, Long Range Planning Committee, Policy and Finance Committee, Public Health and Safety Committee and Transient Guest Tax Committee. All members of the Governing Body serve on the Joint Economic Development Organization (JEDO) Board. For more information on the responsibilities of the City Council please visit the City Council web site or contact Brenda Younger, City Clerk, by email or call 785-368-3941.


City Council Primary Elections for Council Districts 2, 4, 6 and 8 will take place on March 3, 2015, with the top two candidates in each District competing in the April 7, 2015 General Election.

2015 City Council Candidate Information

Where Do I Apply?

Individuals interested in running for office should submit an application to the City Clerk's office located on the 1st Floor of City Hall, Room 166, 215 SE 7th Street, Topeka, Kansas.

Download Candidate Instructional Guide and Application

Filing Fees & Deadline

Applications must be submitted by JANUARY 27, 2015 at 12:00 p.m. (noon)

  • Council District filing fee is $50 (payable to the Shawnee County Election Commission)
  • Office of the Mayor filing fee is $100 (payable to the Shawnee County Election Commission)
  • State of Kansas Registration fee is $35. This fee is required by all candidates in addition to the filing fee (payable to the City of Topeka)

FILING BY PETITION: Candidate Nomination Petition Guide and Forms

Candidates have the option to file a Nomination Petition in lieu of paying the filing fee.

  • Council District - Petition must be signed by 50 qualified electors of the council district.
  • Mayor - Petition must be signed by 100 qualified electors of the city of Topeka.


City of Topeka Ordinance No. 19935 adopted by the City Council on December 9, 2014, calls for an election to be held on April 7, 2015, for the purpose of voting on Charter Ordinance No. 114 concerning the duties of the mayor.

The proposition on the ballot shall be:

“Shall Charter Ordinance No. 114 changing the voting powers of the Mayor entitled: ‘A Charter Ordinance introduced by Deputy Mayor Denise Everhart, amending City of Topeka Code Section A2-24 concerning the duties of the mayor’ take effect?”

Council members are elected by the voters in their district. The mayor is elected by all Topeka voters and is a member of the governing body. However, unlike a council member, the mayor isn’t allowed to vote on every matter presented to the governing body. Currently, the mayor can vote only on certain ordinances and on legislation in which state law requires a vote of the governing body. If the ballot measure is approved, the mayor will be able to vote on every matter presented to the governing body unless it’s an ordinance that state law gives the mayor the right to veto.


For information on campaign disclosure requirements including administering, interpreting and enforcing the Campaign Finance Act and laws relating to conflict of interests, financial disclosure and the regulation of lobbying please visit the Kansas Governmental Ethics Commission website or call (785) 296-4219

The City Clerk’s office is happy to assist you. Please contact us via email at: cclerk@topeka.org or by phone at (785) 368-3940 or (785)368-3941.

© City of Topeka