Individuals interested in running for office in a city election can file in the City Clerk's office located on the first floor, Room 166 City Hall, at 215 SE 7th Street, Topeka, Kansas. All elected officials serve four-year terms. Elections for City Councilmembers are staggered, with five Councilmember’s elected at one time and four Councilmember’s elected two years later.

Our next elections are scheduled for the even-numbered council district seats to be held the first Tuesday in April, 2015; elections for the odd-numbered council district seats to be held the first Tuesday in April 2017.

For more information on the responsibilities, please visit the City Council web site or contact the office at 785-368-3710.

Please contact the Shawnee County Election Office for questions relating to Voter Registration Statistics, District Wards and Precincts and the upcoming Election Calendar. For questions relating to administering, interpreting and enforcing the Campaign Finance Act and laws relating to conflict of interests, financial disclosure and the regulation of lobbying please contact the The Kansas Governmental Ethics Commission.

© City of Topeka